Everyone’s been talking about texting and driving, but there are a few new laws to know about in 2020.
It's not much. Some have pushed for $12-$15, but Florida's starting wage goes up from $8.46 to $8.56.
Need to get a document notarized? You can now do it online according to law HB 409.
The Tampa Bay Times reports that law HB 831 will now make it required that your prescription is sent electronically. It's one of those things you just kind of assumed was the law, but apparently not!
There was already a ban on it, but now texting and driving will be a "primary offense." That means cops can pull you over exclusively for texting behing the wheel. The Tampa Bay Times says if you get a 2nd violation within five years for this, you will pay upwards of $150. Fox 13 reports even just holding your phone as you drive through a school zone could get you a fine.
Law HB 427 authorizes the Honor and Remember Flag to be flown on Veterans Day or when we lose a soldier from Florida in the line of duty.
The minimum age goes from 18 to 21 to buy cigarettes or vaping products, the same as alcohol.
Have your own business and been looking to have a store front? It's not much but taxes for a commercial leases drop from 5.7% to 5.5% starting January 1.